About Us > Governors

+ School Governors Annual Statement 2017/18
+ School Governors Annual Statement 2016/17
+ School Governors Annual Statement 2015/16

The Governors of St Joseph’s have a responsibility for the strategic direction of the school. Responsibility for the day to day management of the school lies with the Headteacher.

The Governing Body consists of nine Foundation Governors, three Parent Governors and two Staff Governors. The term of office for all Governors is four years.

The Bishop of Plymouth has the right to appoint Foundation Governors. Parents, including carers, of registered pupils at the school are eligible to stand for election for Parent Governorship at the school. Staff Governors are elected by the school staff and must be paid to work at the school. At least two of the sixteen Governors must be parents of registered pupils.

The Governing body has specific responsibilities in a number of areas including:
• Catholic ethos of the school;
• Curriculum and conduct of the school;
• Children with Special Educational Needs (SEN);
• Overseeing the school budget;
• Appointments and disciplinary procedure in regards to staff;
• Admissions, discipline and attendance of pupils;
• Community and parish use of the school.

If you are interested in becoming a Governor of our school please contact our Chair of Governors c/o the school office.

Our Governors

Chair of Governors
Contact c/o St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School
Mr Hugh Fogarty
Vice Chair of Governors Mrs Joan McCutcheon
Foundation Governors Mr Marc Crago
Mrs Kirsty Cooper
Mr Hugh Fogarty
Mrs Maria Armitage
Mr Piotr Zralka
Father Chris Findlay-Wilson
Mrs Catarina Borghi
Parent Governor Mrs Katie Trott
Mr Mark Painter
Mrs Jo Valinski
Staff Governors Mrs Michelle Keohan
Co Opted Governor Mrs Nicky O'Donoghue
Headteacher Mr Neil McDermott
Clerk to the Governors Mrs Sarah Broadfoot (

+ Governor Committee Membership and Roles
+ Governor Attendance 2017/18 Academic Year
+ Governor Meeting Dates
+ Terms of Reference Pay Committee
+ Governing Body Schedule of Delegation